Bad Suit Advice

Posted on April 29, 2010

0




Again it’s time to tell you that you don’t know how to wear a suit and the ones you have been wearing have been really embarrassing but nobody noticed because they were too busy wearing ill fitting suits themselves.  Well it seems that Banana Republic have been particularly famous in giving bad suit advice.  But that doesn’t really surprise me since Banana Republic doesn’t come to mind as an authority on the suit.  Though they make a good flat front slack but I digress.

Apparently Banana Republic’s Suiting 101 is a horrible place to suit up.  I’d go so far as to say it’s not really a guide but an advertisement.  It’s all like, “this is what you should do and here are our options, why go further?”  You go further cause you don’t want to look like a total douche bag.  You wanna know how to wear a suit?  Pick up an issue of GQ (too bad I get no kick back)!  Seriously, GQ is the place to go for the old, “how do I look right?”  They point you in the right direction, you find it at the price you can afford.  Granted, I haven’t cracked a GQ in a while; they’re about half the size they used to be so it’s lost a little of its allure for me but I still trust it.  Banana Republic?  I trust them to fleece my pockets if I find myself anywhere but the clearance rack in that place!  Looking like a character from Northern Exposure…

GQ: Dappered

